Apprenticeship Ambassadors Network

The Apprenticeship Ambassadors Network is an employer-led body sponsored by the Skills Funding Agency in England . Its remit is to encourage more employers to become involved in apprenticeships in England.

The Network is the successor to the Apprenticeship Task Force established by the Chancellor of the Exchequer . The current Chairman (2015) is David Meller of the Meller Group. The previous Chairman was Sir Roy Gardner , Chairman of Compass Group Plc. Members include ex-apprentice Mike Turner CBE Chairman of Babcock International and companies as diverse as Asda, British Gas, BT and Toyota.

The Network has presented Honorary Apprenticeship Awards to prominent people who have served an Apprenticeship and / or have had significant involvement in work based learning or success through social enterprise or their profession. These Honoraries in turn act as role models for young people and other employers.

In June 2007, at 11 Downing Street, Honorary Apprenticeships were awarded to Gary Rhodes OBE , [Charles Worthington]] MBE , and Kamal Basran.

Recipients in 2009, at an event at 10 Downing Street, Were Sir Alex Ferguson , CBE , Sir John Cassels CB , CBE Mike Turner, Alan Titchmarsh MBE , Brian Turner CBE , and Margaret Gildea OBE .

In 2011, recipient Sir Alan Jones, Form Chairman, Semta, received his award during the National Apprenticeship Service Awards in June. Boris Johnson, Mayor of London, Frances O’Grady , TUC Deputy General Secretary, Allan Cook CBE, Chairman of Atkins Plc, and John Armitt, Chairman of the Olympic Development Authority also received Honorary Apprenticeship Awards for 2011 at a ceremony at Lancaster House on 14 December 2011.

On July 10, 2013, Ross Brawn OBE, Theo Fennell, Christine Gaskell MBE, Michel Roux Jr., Pete Waterman OBE and Baroness Wall of Honorable Apprenticeships, presented by Deputy Prime Minister Rt Hon Nick Clegg, at Admiralty House.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *